23 Feb Siblings both get DWI charges on same day
According to New York police, a man was taken into custody for a DWI after an accident in Perth on Feb. 15. Authorities say that the 50-year-old had a blood alcohol content of .29 percent. When the man’s sister went to pick him up, she did so while also under the influence of alcohol. The 51-year-old women had a blood alcohol content of .22 percent when she arrived.
As they each had a BAC of above .18 percent, they were charged with aggravated DUI. In New York, drivers may be considered impaired if they have a BAC of more than .05 percent. Those who have a BAC of .08 or higher are considered to be legally intoxicated. According to reports, a third person eventually arrived and took the two intoxicated drivers away.
Drivers who are considered to be impaired or intoxicated while operating a motor vehicle may be charged with a DWI. This may come with significant penalties such as a fine or a license suspension. In some cases, a driver may face the possibility of a license revocation. In some cases, they might have to spend time in jail. As there may be much at stake in a drunk driving case, it may be worthwhile to consult with an attorney.
An attorney may be able to create a defense to the charge that may make it possible to obtain a favorable outcome in a case. For instance, it may be possible to assert that a driver was under the legal limit or that a Breathalyzer test was not done correctly. In other cases, the traffic stop itself could be challenged on the basis that it was not conducted with the requisite reasonable suspicion.