ABKLaw BLOG: Charles A. Rapallo and Justice Antonin Scalia Award Luncheon 2019

2019 marks the 54th annual Charles A. Rapallo and Justice Antonin Scalia Award presented by the Columbian Lawyers Association of the First Department.

This year’s honoree, Nicholas J. Iacovetta, Justice of the Supreme Court of the State of New York serving in the County of the Bronx, will be presented with the 2019 Award at the 54th Annual Rapallo/Scalia Luncheon on Friday April 5th.

The award was named for Charles A. Rapallo, the first Italian-American elected to the Court of Appeals of the state of New York. In 2016 it was changed to the Rapallo-Scalia Award following the death of Antonin Scalia, the first Italian-American on the U.S. Supreme Court.

In 2018, Thomas A. Adams, Administrative Judge of Nassau County, received the Rapallo-Scalia Award.


Founded in 1955, the Columbian Lawyers Association, First Judicial Department, is proud to count among its members prominent jurists, practicing attorneys and law students of Italian American descent. Friends of the Columbian Lawyers include financial institutions, corporations and individuals who share the ideals and goals of the Association.

As a Member or Friend of the Columbian Lawyers, you will enjoy an abundance of networking opportunities, a professional forum for the exchange of ideas with legal practitioners from diverse specializations and a host of other benefits and events year after year. In the past, the Association has sponsored Italian theater, musical and social evenings, gastronomical excursions, wine tastings and tours of Italy. Join us on the first Wednesday of each month at 6:00 PM for our highly acclaimed Monthly Meeting and CLE Dinner Programs held at the Columbus Citizens Foundation, 8 East 69th Street, between Fifth and Madison Avenues.

Each year we sponsor the Charles A. Rapallo and Justice Antonin Scalia Award Luncheon in April. This prestigious event and coveted award is named in honor of the first Italian American jurist to be appointed to the New York State Court of Appeals, the Hon. Charles A. Rapallo.

This award has been given annually to an outstanding member of the legal community — including two justices of the United States Supreme Court, Samuel Alito and Antonin Scalia.

Past recipients of the coveted Rapallo/Scalia award include:

U.S. Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia, 2nd Circuit Court of Appeals Justice Guido Calabresi, Appellate Division Justices Anita Florio, Eugene Nardelli and Angela Mazzarelli and NYS Supreme Court Justices Anthony J. Cutrona and Francis A. Nicolai.

Charles A. Rapallo Award, presented by the Columbian Lawyers Association of the First Department.





#WomenInLaw #CriminalDefense #Appellate #AttorneyDisciplinary #RealEstate #PersonalInjury #CivilLitigation

Email Us For A Response

Contact Our Attorneys Today

Bold labels are required.

    Contact Information

    I have read the disclaimer.  Privacy Policy